The Creeping Review

Spoiler free, as always I will warn you before if any should arise! 

The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy follows Stella, a girl who is about to enter her senior year of high school. She is also the girl who came out of the woods following the disappearance of her friend Jeanie. At the age of six Stella, Jeanie and her friends live in the small town of Savage. The play games and hunt monsters in the woods behind Jeanies house, until Jeanie disappears and Stella returns with no memeory of what happened. Jumping forward to the present in the story, Stella has made new friends and is popular in school. Just like a normal teenager, until another little girl is found dead at a party. We follow as Stella and her friends try to uncover whether the deaths of Jeanie and Jane Doe are the work or human sickos or something supernatural living in the forest, preying on little red-headed girls. 

I love the concept of this story! I like the idea of the monster living in the woods and all that supernatural junk. I was racking my brain the entire time trying to make the murders the work of a human, while the author tries to convince you otherwise. The pace of the story was smooth, never slow or too quickly. This is great for mystery stories like this, it gives you time to assemble your own theories. 

My one problem with this was the characters. The characters were aweful. Stella was an ok main character, she was annoying at times because of how wishy-washy she is. I feel like she can never make up her mind. I will say that about half way through the book Stella had some fabulous character development and growth and I found her less annoying after this. Zoey I did not like at all. Her attitude was rude and her personality was frustrating. She is the high school girl who is too worried about boys and popularity and her overly large breasts. At times she was very unlike a best friend towards Stella. She had some character development towards the end and she became more loyal but other than that, nothing. I did however like Sam, Sam was a great side character! Loyal, supportive, and at times stubborn. He wasn’t over bearing and he showed up at the right times. Stella’s dad bugged me. I don’t understand this character at all. How on Earth do you pay so little attention to daughter who was involved in a previous disappearance of a six year old child when another body shows up so similar to her case? He literally isn’t there for anything! As a parent, when something like this happens and your child becomes so involved, you should be more concerned with their safety than with anything else and he was absent or didn’t care. 

I was a little disappointed by the ending nothing major just because I was holding out hope that this creature who snatches little kids was found at the end. I wanted it to exist so much for the creepy factor, but the ending was satisfying and a bit shocking because it wasn’t what I was hoping for. Surprisin none the less. 

I gave this book a 3/5 stars because I couldn’t get over the characters. If it was one particular character I could put it aside but it was several. The story was great and the concept was wonderful. But with so many character issues, I couldn’t let that go.  As always, thanks for reading my rambles and until next time,

Tiffany

Leave a Reply

